Murtagh – Everything we know about the new World of Eragon book!

Christopher Paolini has announced MURTAGH, a full-length stand-alone novel that picks up one year after the events of the Inheritance Cycle and builds on the story of the original series, giving the fan-favorite character a book of his own!

Pre-order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million

Here’s everything we know about the book:

Book synopsis:

Murtagh transports readers into an electrifying adventure, with danger and intrigue around every corner.

The world is no longer safe for the Dragon Rider Murtagh and his dragon, Thorn. An evil king has been toppled, and they are left to face the consequences of the reluctant role they played in his reign of terror.

Now they are hated and alone, exiled to the outskirts of society. But when Murtagh discovers something wicked lurking in the shadows of Alagaësia, so begins an epic journey into lands both familiar and untraveled, where he and Thorn must use every weapon in their arsenal, from brains to brawn, to find and outwit a mysterious witch. A witch who is much more than she seems…

In this gripping novel starring one of the most popular characters from Christopher Paolini’s blockbuster Inheritance Cycle, a Dragon Rider must discover what he stands for in a world that has abandoned him.

Murtagh is set to release on November 7, 2023 in North America and the United Kingdom. Other international release dates will be announced in the future.

Murtagh’s Post-Inheritance Adventures in Tales From Alagaësia

Fans may remember Murtagh’s early post-Inheritance adventures in The Fork, the first short story featured in Christopher Paolini’s collection of short stories, The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm, released in 2018.

In “The Fork,” Murtagh (going by the name Tornac) meets the young daughter of a tavern owner in Ceunon, where he’s on the hunt for information surrounding a mysterious presence in northern Alagaësia. During his adventure, he’s attacked by mercenaries he hired to gather information, finding himself needing to use an enchanted fork to fight the men off. 

Before departing the tavern, Murtagh gifts the enchanted fork to the girl he met before leaving the town to meet with Thorn.

Christopher has stated that the Murtagh novel will pick up where “The Fork” left off.

Order: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million

Read excerpts from Murtagh

Excerpt #1: Chapter 1 – Maddentide

This excerpt is our very first glimpse into the minds of Murtagh and Thorn, the latter of whom seems to have a great sense of humor! The Rider attempts to calm Thorn, who is anxious about their separation as Murtagh heads to Ceunon to meet with a mercenary. The remainder of the chapter follows Murtagh as he makes his way into the city and is filled with musings and contemplations that give us a glimpse into the mind of the tortured Rider.

We’re also provided with an insight into a community occasion known as Maddentide. This event signifies the commencement of the bergenhed run, the spawning season of a fish species found in Alagaësia. Taking place in the autumn, this occurrence serves as an indicator that winter will arrive in a mere one or two months.

This excerpt can be found in the back of any newly purchased Inheritance Cycle ebook (found here on Amazon), in the back of the re-released paperback versions of any Inheritance Cycle book (found here on Amazon), or in the back of the Books-A-Million Special Edition of Eragon (found here).

Excerpt #2: Chapter 2 – A Fork in the Road

The second excerpt will be familiar to those who have read The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm: Tales From Alagaësia Volume 1. F.W.W. is a collection of short stories taking place after the end of Inheritance featuring fan favorite characters Eragon, Saphira, Angela, Elva, and Murtagh. Among these tales, the short story “The Fork” unveils the following scene through the eyes of Essie, the daughter of the tavern owner. During Murtagh’s stay at the Fulsome Feast inn in Ceunon, Essie finds herself sharing a table with the disguised Rider. This excerpt features the scene from Murtagh’s point-of-view.

This excerpt can be read by completing a puzzle in the back of the Books-A-Million Special Edition of Eragon (found here).

Excerpt #3: Christopher Paolini reads from the book

The third excerpt was shared as a reading by Christopher Paolini during his Fractal Noise book tour stops. In it, we see Murtagh practicing with Zar’roc. You can see Christopher reading the excerpt in the video below:

International Release Dates

Here are all of the international release dates we’re aware of. More will be announced in the future. If you don’t see your country on the list, keep an eye on your country’s publisher’s social media channels.
  • Australia: November 7
  • Brazil (English): November 7
  • Germany: November 7
  • Italy: November 7
  • Japan (English): November 7
  • New Zealand: November 7
  • France: November 8
  • Mexico: November 9
  • Spain: November 9
  • Spain (Catalan): November 9
  • Germany (English hardcover): November 30
  • Sweden (English hardcover): November 30

Be the first to know about excerpts and information from Murtagh, plus Eragon TV show casting updates, release dates, and more! Sign up for our newsletter and follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter!